On Day one we were amazed with the Mirage. Day two killed that feeling,
and then stomped on its carcass and threw it in the lion habitat.
Check
in was on Sunday December 2. We booked this room on a winter offer CP
got from the MGM/Mlife folks. I do about 90-95% of the gambling between
us and for some reason they give her an offer that was literally twice
as good as mine. At least that is how it looked before we checked in...
more on that soon.
The four of us drive over to the Mirage. CP
and I hit the check in. A gorgeous woman helped us out and sent us up to
the twentieth floor. We hit the room and it is pretty nice. At least
twice the size of the Fremont room. I am pretty sure this is the basic
room except we had a view of the volcano. It was fun to watch, once.
The
king size bed was a little on the soft side for me. Cat loved it but
hated the real down pillows. I didn't mind them. The toilet was one of
those that could take you with it if you weren't careful. LOUD AND
POWERFUL!!! I woke up once in the middle of the night when CP flushed.
LOUD!
There was a love seat and two smaller chairs. So we had
plenty of seating for staring out the windows. Speaking of windows, one
of them opened! I love all of that fresh air!
On our first night
there was a knock at the door. CP answered and this guy handed her a
wrapped box and said "Compliments of the Mirage". Cookies, chocolate
covered raisins and mixed nuts. Nice! They were killing it!
Now for the not so nice or day two.
We
went to the Mlife desk to get the freeplay added and were told it
wasn't valid because they were having their holiday gift thing. We
weren't told that when we made the reservation and we weren't informed
of that when we checked in. We foolishly believed the money would be
there and we were wrong.
When the girl at the desk was explaining
why there wasn't any freeplay she said "Well you got one free night and
a great rate on the other one..." I pointed out the $25 (+ taxes!)
resort fee she said "well you also get..." She couldn't add anything
because that was what our offer was for. One free night with one
discounted (plus the $25 plus tax resort fee!) and the freeplay that
they wouldn't give us. Bad/Lame.
I head over to the holiday gift
deal to see if I can get something. The computers are down. And they
were down the next three times I went by.
This is when we said
screw it. I would have started playing at the Mirage (I'd been knocking
out the points to keep my platinum card for the CET folks the day
before) but I didn't feel like giving them another penny at this point. I
could have easily lost ten times the value of the freeplay and been OK
with it. But I was over and done with the place by then.
We had
around $60 in Mlife comp dollars left over from our last trip (at the
Aria where we were treated very well), so we used that to help pay for
the one night that wasn't comped. We ended up paying around $15 on top
of that not bad but...
I am not sorry for stiffing them. When
Mlife/Mirage want to change the terms mid stream they can suck it.
Future offers be damned!
No comments:
Post a Comment